Region of Lima:
Shaped by 8 bordering provinces to the cardinal city between (among) them we have: Barranca Huaura, Huaral, Canta, Oyon, Cañete Huarochiri, yauyos.
History and geography
Centuries before it was founded as the City of Kings, the territory of Lima, capital of Peru and of the department of Lima, was inhabited by civilizations that had gauged its wealth and strategic location. Proof of that can be seen in the countless huacas or temples that dotted the valley, particularly the Pachacamac shrine, a major pilgrimage center during the Inca empire. This spurred Spanish Conqueror Francisco Pizarro in 1535 to choose the Rimac River Valley to found the capital, as its location by the sea provided a link with sailing routes.
Lima is the main gateway to Peru, a major city bustling with living history and movement. It is an ethnic melting pot, featuring pre-Hispanic, colonial and modern elements. The metropolis is also surrounded by every aspect of Nature: the sea, islands, mountains, desert and plantlife. Its various quarters feature an active nightlife and well-endowed cultural scene, as well as plentiful public transport and non-stop activities, a city of more than 8 million souls.
Before exploring Lima, the visitor should map out a route. The old city center harbors churches and mansions brimming with colonial and religious art, including such superb architectural examples as the Casa Aliaga or Palacio de Torre Tagle mansions. Colonial Lima also features many fine churches and convents such as Santo Domingo, San Agustin, San Francisco and La Merced.
Further south lie the Pantanos de Villa, a natural wetlands area which has been declared a reserved zone and which is a haven for more than 150 bird species, while the Pachacamac complex is to be found further south. In the Cañete highlands, 180 km from Lima, lies the Lunahuana Valley, a hotspot for adventure sports.
To the north, 105 km from Lima are the Lomas de Lachay, a national reserve in the foothills which features a unique mist-fed eco-system of wild plant and animal species. A little further north, meanwhile, is Paramonga, which features pre-Hispanic archaeological sites.
The climate is dryer and sunnier east up the Central Highway, in the Andean foothills. The road heads up through the province of Huarochiri, until it reaches the town of San Pedro de Casta, from where one can see the Marcahuasi plateau. The area is the site of huge natural formations eroded by the climate into the shape of animals and people.
Touristy attractiveness of historical center
The 18 of January of 1535 the Spanish conqueror Francisco Pizarro and twelve of their companions, founded the city of Lima, in the most central and extensive valley of the coast of Peru, under a calm and calm sky, in the shores of the Rimac river, to two leguas of the sea and near a town of Indians governed by the Taulichusco cacique. It was called to him, "City of the Kings", name that, although was given more by religious reasons, today, contemplated to the distance of almost five centuries, seems like a prophetic revelation of the greatness to that there was to arrive the future virreynato.
Created by Francisco Pizarro, it is the old center of Lima, the Palace of the President of the Republic or Palace of Government occupies the place of the palace of Virreyes; the Cathedral, is the site occupied by the primitive church founded by Pizarro and next to her are the small Church of the shrine and the Archiepiscopal Palace. Is the old town hall in the site that today occupies the Municipality. We know that it was in addition scene, in colonial times, of celebrations, processions, run of bulls and cars of faith of the Inquision; as well as place where they were sold in public auctions the goods of the victims of this one.
Cathedral of Lima
One is in the Greater Seat and it began to be constructed the same day of the foundation of the city, 18 of January of 1535. Originally, it was a modest temple, but in 1564 the Hieronymite master builder of Loayza, designed a temple of great dimensions, seemed to the Cathedral of Seville.
Palace of Government
Located in the Seat of Arms, it has elegant halls, in addition to valuable paintings. It is also known him with the name of House of Pizarro, because one rises in the place chosen by the conqueror, to build the seat of his administration.
The Church and Convent of San Francisco
By its magnificent unit of volume and color, this architectonic set is considered like the obtained monumental atmosphere more of Hispano-America. Its construction began in 1542 and concluded in 1674.
The convent , the claustros and porteria, are adorned with Sevillian tiles and, underneath them, underground galleries or catacombs exist that, at the virreinal time, served like cemetery.
The General Cemetery Presbitero Matias Maestro
was inaugurated in 1808 and Manuel To Fuentes later writes it like "one of the best establishments of the Capital; its inner and outer aspect is most beautiful (...) Luxurious tablets and sumptuous marble monuments lock up the rest of people who enjoyed xxxx fortune or which they have occupied high positions in the Republic, such as generals Mar, Gamarra, Salaverry, Necochea, etc.
Park the wall Lima
One but of our cultural patrimonies. Today it is a turistico place and relaxation for Limean and the visitors of the interior and the foreigner.
Its area is of 25 thousand square meters. An area, for my pleases quite ample! The park of the wall is located in the first block of the Amazon shred and the Abancay avenue. with a type of colonial modern architecture and another very simpatica one. Account with two levels. The superior level is surrounded with metallic grates. It has two stone entrances one towards the tree-lined avenue that has the monumental sink with the square of beautiful arts and the pergola of the viewpoint. Many green areas. banks colonial type lampposts cronica type. and a peatonal bridge. In the inferior level it is possible to be appreciated a tree-lined avenue with paving stones of concrete and lajas of stones. A cycle via, approach ramps to vehicular and peatonal. The parking is approximately for about 40 to 50 cars. Also it has 4 water mirrors. Minusvalidos inclines for. Peatonales bridges with characteristics of Lima Old. Museum (it even seems to me noninagurado) (where colonial arqueologicas pieces found exibiran despues of the renovation of the park). commercial stores, restaurant, Telephone cabins, And other services. New his iluminacion is attractive the special one during the night. 11 months for their restoration were taken. With a little but of 2 million of dolares of investment.
Church and Convent of La Merced
The church of the Favor dates from century XVI. Nevertheless, the original structure had to be modified and to be reconstructed in century XVIII, since the earthquakes had caused serious damages in the construction of the temple. In the Favor, the art is shaped in the pictures of fabric the oil of the artist Victor Mideros, who emphasizes in them subjects of religious character. An English of black moon, fact in 1817 and installed clock in 1820, is located in the tower of the church. One of the infrastructures that have not modified its original appearance is claustro of the Favor, since it conserves the brickwork.
It was constructed on the portable altar of the curaca Taulichusco, main authority of the Valley of the Rimac. The house belonged to Hieronymite of Aliaga, that received the land of Francisco Pizarro. At the present time - perhaps in a unique case in Peru and in America the lot is inhabited by the descendants of the conqueror.
House of Osambela
In her several artistic stages in a single a megre architecture. It has 5 outer balconies and a viewpoint to the center, of neoclassic style, from which his owner observed the entrance and exit from the boats to the Port of the Callao. Recovered well, he is host permanent of several cultural institutions.
One is in this large house of aims of S. XVIII, of particular interest being one of the first houses that combine the French influence of principles of S. XVIII and the Limean architectonic expressions. At the moment it belongs to the Credit union of Peru.
House Riva Aguero
S. XIX. Seat of the Riva Institute Omen of the Catholic University. In first stage one is the historical file and the library and in the second floor the Museum of Popular Art.
House of the Marquesses of the Riva
Satately large house of S. XVIII. With an ample patio and beautiful grates, today she is host of the Feminine Association Between-Nous.
At the moment host of the Patronage of Lima. It contains an important library, whose works talk about the history of the city of Lima.
House of Pilatos
S XVI. One of oldest of the city. It has columns in front of made of stone and fantastic stairs the door.
Building of the Inquisicion
Still the Room of Office of Hearings or the Judgments subsists, with his beautiful adorned with caissons of the S. XVIII, that so many dramatic processes have been present at. They have desescombrado part of mazmorras underground that the tourist can cross.
Palace of Tagle Tower
The most beautiful mansion of Lima of principles of century XVIII. A true work of art of the Limean architecture by its absolute originality, that demonstrates Andalusian contributions, Moors, Creoles and Asians, those that fit harmoniously.
The Palace, present seat of the Ministry of Outer Relations, has a carved stone cover and two balconies, that they are authentic jewels of the City of the Kings.
The Church and Convent of Santo Domingo
It is the oldest convent and by his architectonic characteristics he is one of the most harmonic corners of the city. It is conformed by a succession of claustros and patios in winch of which to areas on watch and communitarian stays are distributed. To the right of their greater altar, are the rest of Santa Rosa of Lima , San Martin de Porres and of the Devout Juan Masias.
Church and Monastery of Santa Rosa of Lima
This architectonic complex was built between centuries XVII and XVIII next to the house in which it was born Santa Rosa of Lima, Pattern of Lima, America and the Philippines. The sanctuary was finished constructing in 1728, but soon it was demolished in 1874 to construct a church there. In 1912, the Dominican ones again assumed the handling of the place, reconstructing the sanctuary towards 1923.
At the present time, the complex is formed by the church and the sanctuary. The zone of the sanctuary is constituted by some original atmospheres in which Santa lived. It emphasizes the hermitage that she herself constructed, in 1614, to pray. In you even marinate still see the tracks of its fingers. Another attractive important one is the well of 19 ms of depth, in which it is said threw the key of the silicon that bordered its waist in penance signal. Finally, is the lemon tree planted by Santa. The celebration of Santa Rosa of Lima is celebrated the 30 of August.
Church of Nazarenas
It was Don Sebastian de Antuñano and Rivas the true impeller of the construction of the Sanctuary of the Gentleman of the Miracles. Named fourth butler of the sagrada image in 1684, it bought lands bordering to the zone -- where the scallop shell until today -- and was constructed the first church of the Mulberry Christ. This one suffered serious damages by the attack of the time and earthquakes. This first construction -- that it practically required to be demolished in 1746 -- will follow in importance the one to him that was constructed in 1771 by initiative of the Virrey Amat. This temple has suffered, to the present time, so many remodelings as earthquakes have supported the City of the Kings. What began being a small chapel is now an imposing temple of beautiful architecture, and that, contrary the happened thing with other monuments, has been embellished progressively after the many reconstructions and adjustments of which it has been object.
Museum of Art the Lima
Located on the Palacio de la Exposicion (Palace of the Exhibition) since 1961. It was built in 1872 with plans of Gustave Eiffel. Formed by donated pieces and legacies. It exhibits collections that show the art of Peru from the prehistory and the first human discoveries until the contemporary art. Ceramic and fabric pre-Hispanic cultures collections. Silver jewels, furniture and colonial dresses. Paintings of the "Escuela Cusqueña" and of the periods republican and contemporary, outstanding the collections of Ignacio Merino, Pancho Fierro and Carlos Baca Flor
Museum of Italian Art
Founded in 1921, building with the Florentine renascence architecture. Designed by the Milan Architect Gaetano Moretti. Donated by the Italian colony in Peru when being commemorated the centennial of the Independence of Peru. Sculptures, drawings, furniture and canvases of Italian art. Also diverse temporary exhibitions.
Park of the Exposition
The construction of this park, formerly know as Park of the Exposition, generated much controversy in the capital. The idea was to put culture within the reach of the majority, an objective that was reached with the help of a multi-million dollar investment. The park has several different stages for live performances. Most of these performances are free, and the productions have something to offer audiences of all ages. Everything from puppeteers to open theater to musicals from all over the world can be enjoyed here.
Or n arc of eight meters of height and thirteen meters wide gives the welcome. "Chinese Street" is the message that hides ideogramas placed in the peak of the cover; in the opposite side, a thought "under the sky hides all the men we are equal".
Philosophy and nailed Eastern shades right in the center of the city. The arc or Chinese cover, is the door that lead to a place of particular enchantment within the Limean large city, that includes the street Capon (blocks 7 and 8) and the Andahuaylas shreds (blocks 7 and 8), Paruro (blocks 7.8 and 9) and Huanta (block 9).
Church and Convent of the Barefoot ones
At the end of the Almeda of the Barefoot ones, on the foot of the Hill San Cristobal. Calm Limean convent, true oasis of peace, founded on 1592; it does not have greater architectonic pretensions, but he is typical of the time; interesting pinacoteca.
Viewpoint of the Hill San Cristobal
Probable indigenous portable altar that she was witness of the historical evolution of the city, of where a splendid Vista of Lima is had. Interesting museum of site.
Seat of Acho
Present bullring of Lima. She was construida in the days of virrey Amat (1768) by Agustin Hipolito Landaburu. Chronological she is the third construida one in the world (the 1era was in Madrid, 2da in Seville). It has a perimeter of 245 m.s and a diameter of 78 ms; in her thirteen thousand seated spectators fit. The Seat of Acho is a national monument.
Huana Huallamarca or Pan de Azucar
Huaca of piramidal form totally reconstruida, belongs to the Culture Lima. Small museum of site with objects found in the zone.
Pertaining to the Culture Lima, construida integramente with it marinates small handmade. Interesting museum of site and park of flora and native fauna.
Towards the south (by South Panamerica Highway)
Town of Lurin
Zone of cloudless sky that reunites hills, beaches, land-ecological parcels, prolific of horses, archaeological centers and suitable places for the practice of sports and excursions outdoors. They emphasize its vitivinicolas warehouses, artisan factories and rustic restaurants.
Archaeological sanctuary of Pachacamac
It was the most important ceremonial center of the Peruvian coast from times previous to the Incas. The material used mainly in the constructions was the mud. Palaces, seats and temples can be distinguished (some recovered), between which they emphasize the Temple of the Sun and the Acllahuasi, both getting up during the domination Inca (1440-1533) and which a site museum comprises of the best sector conservado.Tiene that lodges the pieces found in the excavations.
Town of Cieneguilla
District located in the valley of the Lurin river in which it is possible to be enjoyed the nature. Free zones to encamp and restaurants exist rustic to enjoy a familiar day.
Towards the east (By the Main highway)
Archaeological Site Puruchuco
Construction of mud and marinates pertaining to the period Inca (Xv-xvi century d.C.). It is considered that it was a palace or administrative center of singular importance in the zone. The distribution of the space follows lines geometric and is divided in three sectors between which it emphasizes a set of patios and viewpoints. During the excavation process diverse human burials recovered, characterized to be On guard fetal and accompanied of diverse objects of daily use. Account with an interesting Museum of Site.
Archaeological Site Cajamarquilla
Constructed between 600 years 500 and d.C., during the period of predominance in the valley of the culture Lima. With its 167 hectares of extension, the second greater mud complex urban of pre-Hispanic the $andes is considered (after Chan Chan, in the Freedom).
Zoological Park Huachipa
It lodges to more than two thousand animals pertaining to near 300 species, between birds, mammals, reptiles and fish. They emphasize the Forest of the Birds with an retort of the Peruvian tropical forests and the Interactive Farm dedicated to the children.
Towns of Chosica and Santa Eulalia
Km 36 - 39 (50 minutes in car), in the Limean mountain range. Rustic zone of relaxation centers, clubs and restaurants. It is an ideal place for the rest by his dry climate and infaltable sun. It also serves like departure point to enter the Peruvian central mountain range.
Towards the north (by North Panamerica Highway)
Huaral, also called "Capital of Agriculture", is located to the North from Lima to less than 2 hours of the center of Lima in omnibus. Huaral has a population (segun data of year 1996) of 137.595 inhabitants with a surface of 6.655,70 Km2., has like capital to the city of Huaral, that this located on the 300 meters s.n.m. and to 90 km of Lima.
The Archaeological Rest of Rupac
Located to 65 km of Huaral to 3 400 msnm, is one ciudadela with solid vaulted ceilings, also called the "Machu Limean Picchu". Some constructions get to have 10 ms of height and are located abyss on the brink of madness.
Castle of Chancay
The located castle of chancay this to the north of the city of Lima, in the province of Huaral, district of Chancay, arriva via terrestrial; by the Pan-American North, to approximately a pair of hours of trip of the city of Lima. The Castle of Chancay, is a castle of medioeval style, dates from la Forties and it was constructed on a rocky cliff in Beaches of Chancay.
Constructed in 1924 and contains towers, perrons and vaults to the purest medieval style than are complemented with the present diversions but: swimming pools for adults and children, zone of games for children, museum that keeps objects and momias from the Chancay Culture, zona ecologica in front of the sea, hall the memories with objects designed by the tataranieta of the Virrey Amat and Junet, hall hunting that contains an important animal collection brought of Africa.
National Reserve of Lachay
Located to 105 km to the north of Lima, between the provinces of Chancay and Huaral, it includes an extension of 5 070 Has. The Reserve, created in 1977 protects a vegetative formation called Hills, considered only in the world. The coastal Hills are "islands" in the middle of one of the most barren Earth deserts. Due to the intense winter fogs, that cover during six months the central and South coast with the Peru, the ground becomes damp and grows a peculiar vegetation that turns green again between May and October of every year, happening soon through a long period of noticeable dryness. The flora and the fauna have adapted admirably to this annual cycle of humidity and dryness.
Towards the North
They emphasize the bath of Santa Rosa (km 43) and Cove (km 44). This last one, of very calm sea, is frequented by Limean veraneantes from s. XIX At the moment is a small city, almost integrated to Great the Lima. Its bath apogee as was during years 50 and 60. Still it conserves elegant buildings and an imposing center of motonautica, the Yacht Club.
Towards the South
From km 35 of the South Pan-American Highway a rosary of beautiful beaches that extend uninterruptedly throughout the coast until the city of Cañete, to 135 km of the city of Lima begins. There are them of sand and rolled song, with ideal waves for the practice of surf: Silencio (km 41.5), Young ladies (km 42), Rocky place (51 km - San Bartolo), High Tip (km 43) and End Rocks (km 45). Many have become residential bath: Pulpy (km 41), Santa Maria and Embajadores (km 51), Naplo (km 51). Others, have abundant services like hotels, restaurants and centers of diversion: Beautiful end and Black End (km 45), San Bartolo (km 51), Pucusana (km 57).